Mihaly Kolodko – entering the magical world of miniatures

It’s my pleasure to introduce the third artist who I’ve had the chance of interviewing for you – a talented sculptor Mihaly Kolodko, whose miniature city sculptures immediately caught my heart, as I’m sure they will yours. Mihaly was born in Uzhorod. His mother is from Transcarpathia and his father from the Khmelnitsky region. He spent his childhood in the Vinogradivskyi district, and since his Grandma spoke Hungarian, these memories are saturated with her beautiful language and culture. His formal education was in Ukrainian, which positioned him somewhere between the two worlds. Now over to the artist.

Mihaly, what led you to art, and specifically to sculpture?

Since there were no artists in the family, I got to the art world quite late when after school I was admitted to the College of Art in Uzhhorod. Here I first got acquainted with different art forms where sculpture was one of the subjects and gradually became the only way for me to express my thoughts. In 2002, I graduated from the Lviv Academy of Arts, the Department of Monumental Sculpture.

What was the first creation you were satisfied with?

The sculpture on which I work at any point in time is the most important for me, but the pleasure of the result is an unattainable goal. I always strive to do better.

Do you have people advising you on your work?

People who “advise” me usually do not realize what role I have endowed them with. In different periods there are different people whose opinion I listen to. The real critic for me is time.

What’s your creative process like?

A slightest interference in my mind is enough to spark a new idea, but to maintain this fire for a longer time, one inspiration is not enough. Here come into force many sensations: love, anger, passion, despair, confidence, doubt, joy…

What do you consider your biggest success?

When my works cease to be mine.

What do you want the viewers to take from your art?

A sense of immediacy.

How do you artworks fit into the 21st century?

I don’t think they do, but I live in it.

What are your next steps?

I don’t plan any exhibitions, but I’m open to them if someone can convince me of their need. But to create and continue to install sculptures in public places is a necessity for me. Without it I can not imagine my life.

I’m sure many people who see your installations around the city would agree with you! We wish you lots of fruitful years to come so that you can continue spreading your vision and delight the people in Uzhhorod and beyond.

Leave a comment